Migrate an old CMSimple to a new host

CMSimple bis 3.4 (keine weitere Entwicklung)
Post Reply
Peyo
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue 5. May 2020, 15:52

Migrate an old CMSimple to a new host

Post by Peyo » Tue 5. May 2020, 16:27

Hello, I am taking over a site made with CMSimple_XH 1.4, which has not been updated since 2013, but which worked perfectly with Celeonet. I have changed hosting providers and modified the contracts, the content has been copied in full, the domain name transferred from Celeonet (old) to Ionos (new registrar), the target is respected, but the site is not displayed.
An error 500 is reported, and the examination in the inspector gives an url which I do not know which begins with "blob: http" ...
The php version was 5.6 at Celeonet, 7.2 minimum at Ionos.

Can you help me by telling me what to modify or add?
Is it conceivable to make progressive updates thereafter, if I find an access to the site by Ionos?

thanks in advance

http://www.lafanfaretoto.com/index.php

Gert
Posts: 1378
Joined: Sun 18. Nov 2012, 14:18

Re: Migrate an old CMSimple to a new host

Post by Gert » Tue 5. May 2020, 17:32

Hello,

CMSimple_XH 1.4 does not work under php 7. You have to setup the website new.

You should install CMSimple 5 in a subfolder, and:

1. login with password "test", change password, logout, login again.

2. change "Settings => CMS => Use => H1only_pagesplitting: " to empty or anything except "true"

3. change "Settings => CMS => Show => Page_headings: " to "true"

After that you can add your old contents, the template and plugins step by step, but consider:

https://www.cmsimple.org/doku/en/?Updat ... ile_format

If you are using some plugins, I fear they are also not working. However, an update after 8 years is not so easy anyway ...

When all is working, lead the domain to the new subfolder or move the new website to the domain root.

Download CMSimple 5: https://www.cmsimple.org/en/?Downloads___CMSimple

Gert
Gert Ebersbach | CMSimple | Templates - Plugins - Services

Peyo
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue 5. May 2020, 15:52

Re: Migrate an old CMSimple to a new host

Post by Peyo » Tue 5. May 2020, 19:10

Thank you so much for you answer, so quickly return.
I ask the compagnie of musiciens : the site is old with olds data inside, I prefer for myself to do a brand new website with news tools, rather growing steep by stepp to have an old content in Cmsimple 5. I ask them.
Thank you again, you have enlightened me on what I should do.
Best regards, Pierre

Gert
Posts: 1378
Joined: Sun 18. Nov 2012, 14:18

Re: Migrate an old CMSimple to a new host

Post by Gert » Tue 5. May 2020, 19:48

Peyo wrote:
Tue 5. May 2020, 19:10
the site is old with olds data inside, I prefer for myself to do a brand new website with news tools ...
That's the right decision ;)

So forget my instructions and setup a new CMSimple 5 website, here you will find a lot of modern templates:

https://www.ge-webdesign.de/cmsimpletem ... _Templates

have fun - Gert
Gert Ebersbach | CMSimple | Templates - Plugins - Services

Post Reply