Multilingual Site (no subsites)

CMSimple 4.0 und höher
Ace
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat 27. Aug 2016, 17:11

Multilingual Site (no subsites)

Postby Ace » Tue 30. Aug 2016, 19:09

Hi everyone

I'm currently trying to figure out why I can't see the language selection flags above the content section as it is on the CMSimple - Website.

Image

Here's what I'm currently experimenting with: Prototype


I tried to follow the instructions of the documentation. Here you can see the
<?php echo languagemenu();?>
in the default template and here is where I put my language folders en and de onto my ftp server. They are renamed copies of the 2lang folder.



My main goal is to create a multilingual, no subsite webpage. How can I make this work?

Gert
Posts: 1099
Joined: Sun 18. Nov 2012, 14:18

Re: Multilingual Site (no subsites)

Postby Gert » Tue 30. Aug 2016, 21:15

Ace wrote:and here is where I put my language folders en and de onto my ftp server. They are renamed copies of the 2lang folder.

NO :!:

You have copied the 2site folder, I can recognize it by the "cmsimplesubsite.htm":

http://acevancleef.bplaced.net/lernprojekte/test_CMSimple_4-6-3/de/cmsimplesubsite.htm

So it can't appear in the language menu.

In the 2lang folder a "cmsimplelanguage.htm" is located, look at my bplaced-demo:

http://cmsimple.bplaced.net/da/cmsimplelanguage.htm

Gert
Last edited by Gert on Tue 30. Aug 2016, 21:26, edited 1 time in total.
Gert Ebersbach | CMSimple | Templates - Plugins - Services

Ace
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat 27. Aug 2016, 17:11

Re: Multilingual Site (no subsites)

Postby Ace » Tue 30. Aug 2016, 22:48

Thank you. I'd never have seen that. Now it seems to be working. But I'm wondering, how I should approach the content making. Do I have anything else to set up on my ftp-server so I can create an English and a German version of the content?

And do I also have to include the language folder for the default language or not? E.g. Default language is German. Is it necessary to put in a "de" folder?

Gert
Posts: 1099
Joined: Sun 18. Nov 2012, 14:18

Re: Multilingual Site (no subsites)

Postby Gert » Wed 31. Aug 2016, 09:06

Ace wrote:Do I have anything else to set up on my ftp-server so I can create an English and a German version of the content?

Sorry, but CMSimple is not a translation software. You have to login to every language and create the content like in the main language. Or copy content.php and pagedata.php from the main language to the language folder and translate it step by step.

Every language is a separate website with its own login and own content and pagedata file, located in a folder ./content/

Ace wrote:And do I also have to include the language folder for the default language or not? E.g. Default language is German. Is it necessary to put in a "de" folder?

The main language is not in an extra folder.

If you want to do so, you can't use the language menu of CMSimple. But you can make your own language menu in the template.htm (if you can ;) ),

Gert
Gert Ebersbach | CMSimple | Templates - Plugins - Services

Ace
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat 27. Aug 2016, 17:11

Re: Multilingual Site (no subsites)

Postby Ace » Thu 1. Sep 2016, 18:19

Ah, I see. Each language is a new, more or less independent instance of my website. Now I understand it more clearly, thank you :D


Return to “CMSimple 4.0 and higher”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest